Depression Diary 1

Dealing with depression is a daily struggle for me. I wake up almost every morning just wondering if I should just end it all. Growing up I was always just told that I was crazy and I would get over whatever was wrong with me at that time. I always go through each day struggling with myself one side saying that I am better off not here and the other fighting the bad thoughts and just trying to stay happy. With my line of work, it is even harder because I deal with angry customers almost constantly. I get told that I’m a waste of space and that I should just die because of stuff that is out of my control and my supervisors tell me that I just have to deal with it. I want to continue to share my story because I feel that if I continue to share my story I can hopefully help someone. Below are some tips with handling depression.

1. Track triggers and symptoms

2. Stay calm

3. Understand and accept depression

4. Separate yourself from the depression

5. Recognize the importance of self-care

6. Breathe deeply and relax the muscles

7. Challenge negative thoughts

8. Practice mindfulness

9. Make a bedtime routine

10. Exercise

11. Avoid alcohol

12. Record the positives

Leave a comment